Christmas Greetings That Leap Off The Page

“Now to the Lord sing praises,
All you within this place,
And with true love and brotherhood
Each other now embrace;
This holy tide of Christmas
All other doth deface.
O tidings of comfort and joy,
Comfort and joy
O tidings of comfort and joy”

It’s time to spread the cheer and wish our fellow-man a Merry Christmas. The typical way most Canadians extend their well wishes over the Holiday season is with Christmas cards and a wee bit of help from Canada Post. Now I have to admit I am the worst offender of this tradition. I rarely send cards and often the only friends who receive them from me are those who are within walking distance or a short drive from my home – usually because despite the best of intentions, I have left it until the week before Christmas to address my cards and have run out of time to mail them. One year we were so late sending cards out, we made them New Years cards instead…and yet I love getting cards. I love the varying designs and colourful covers. I love the personal notes from my friends and family. Every year I say, “I will send cards!” and every year I fail! Well maybe not this year. Not only have I decided to try to get organized and get cards out this year, I am making them! And not just any cards, but cards with a little something extra… Pop-Up cards!

Frosty - Help I've fallen and I can't get up...

Now don’t roll your eyes at me…I am not the scrapbooking type. I once bought a bag full of scrapbooking supplies determined I would make a spectacular baby album for my newborn, baby daughter. She is 8 now and the bag of supplies sits untouched in my home-office. Let me be blunt. I really dislike scrapbooking and don’t get the attraction to this hobby – yes, Michelle, my American-scrapbooking-addicted-friend, I see you wagging your finger at me. I would sooner spend a weekend scrubbing toilets than go away on a scrapbooking weekend! Ok maybe not scrubbing toilets, but you get the gist of how I feel about it. Don’t get me wrong, I like paper crafts, but my interests lie more in the area of origami and pop-ups.

I have always been fascinated with these two forms of paper craft since I was a young child. Several years ago – although it seems like only a year or so – when my daughter was a baby, I was looking for some Christmas books for her and came across an amazing book – a work of art, The Twelve Days of Christmas by Robert Sabuda. I opened one page and was in awe. His work was fresh and lovely. I immediately went out and bought his version of the Clement C. Moore classic The Night Before Christmas. The following year I bought Sabuda’s The Christmas Alphabet. I was hooked! Robert Sabuda’s work is a treat for the eyes, and his work extends far beyond Christmas pop-up books. Our home library now houses at least a half-dozen of his books and the collection is growing.

Oh Christmas tree...

Pop- ups can be quite a feat of engineering and ingenuity and Robert Sabuda is a master! I, on the other hand, am not! I am a crafty chick, but pop-ups are not something I have ever attempted to design and execute on my own. How is it then that I have made some pop-up cards for Christmas? Well, scooch a little closer and let me share a secret with you… Robert Sabuda has a website with templates and instructions on it! Yes that’s right the Master has generously shared some ideas and tricks with anyone who is interested, and now I’m sharing them with you…

hark I hear an angel...

To make my cards I bought card stock and some die-cut paper products at the local art supply store. I raided my craft closet and bins and came up with the rest of my supplies: a few adhesive crystals (for the snowman), a felt snowflake border, some rhinestone snowflake stickers, raffia, and the cute, self-adhesive, Xmas light trim. The music on two of the cards I photocopied from an old caroling book that had been in my family since 1965. I attached the music to the card stock with double-sided tape, and used foam tape to attach the die-cut pieces to the music. On the snowman pop-up card, the felt snowflake border was attached by using spray adhesive on the border and carefully positioning it on the front of the card. These cards were so simply to make and didn’t take much time. One suggestion though is to make your pop-up first and glue it to the inside of the card. Allow it to dry before decorating the front of the card. For templates and detailed instructions on how to make the pop-ups see Robert Sabuda’s  website: http://www.robertsabuda.com/popmakesimple.asp

Tidings of Joy

So there you have it, the secret to my pop-up cards…thanks Robert! Now all I have to do is make several more and get them addressed and mailed out in the next week or so…Who am I kidding? I will never get this done! I’d be lucky to get store-bought cards out in time and judging by my track record this task is not one I am not likely to complete, or at least I wouldn’t bet money on it! Now to decide who will get these cards…Hmmm…

Photos and cards by Lyndsay Jenkinson

Inspiration from Robert Sabuda

This entry was posted in Crafts, DIY, Just Plain Fun, Lyndsay Jenkinson, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Christmas Greetings That Leap Off The Page

  1. Ohhh, me likey!! Any chance I’ll receive one of those cards this year?

  2. Jamey Colas says:

    Real wonderful information can be found on website.

  3. The Hook says:

    I wish I had a tenth of your holiday spirit, ladies!

  4. Pingback: Christmas Tidings | Balance My Life

Leave a Reply

