MY KINDA RELIGION: SUNDAY NIGHT DINNER

Growing up in Montreal, Sunday night family dinners were a very important part of my childhood. We would alternate Sundays between my Dad’s side of the family and my Mom’s.  I have so many fond memories of spending time with my grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.   I can remember walking into my grandparents home and being hit with the intoxicating smell of roast beef cooking along with yorkshire pudding and apple pie.  There was a lot of chatter, laughter, and story telling by my Dad and his brother, my Uncle Fred, especially once the wine started flowing.  I still enjoy going to my parents home for Sunday dinner with my sister, her husband and my niece and nephews.  I equally enjoy creating a quiet Sunday dinner at home with my own family.

Below is the recipe for one of my favourite Sunday night meals, slow oven braised beef ribs.  Initially there is a fair amount of preparation involved, but once it’s in the oven you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine with your family until it’s serving time.  Enjoy.

SLOW OVEN BRAISED BEEF SHORT RIBS

INGREDIENTS:

4 lbs beef short ribs

2 tbsp olive or vegetable oil

2 med carrots – diced

1 large onion – diced

2 stalks celery – diced

3 cloves garlic – minced

3 cups red wine

4 cups

2 sprigs thyme (finely chopped)

2 bay leaf

Salt/pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS:

1.  Preheat oven to 375 °F.

2.  Season ribs with salt and pepper.  Heat oil in pan and brown ribs over medium high heat until nice and crusty.  Remove ribs.

3.  Add carrots, celery, onion, garlic to pan.  Cook for about 5 minutes or until they start to brown.  Add red wine, deglaze pan and reduce to half.  Add beef stock, herbs , bay leaf and bring to a simmer.

4.  Place beef back in pan.  Make sure stock covers ribs half way up sides.  If liquid is low add additional stock.

5.  Cover pan and place in oven.  Cook for 2 – 2 ½ hours or until tender.  The meat should fall off the bone.

6.  When cooked, gently remove meat from pan. Strain remaining liquid, skim off fat.  If sauce seems thin, reduce it over high heat until thickened.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with mashed potatoes, rice or buttered noodles.

Serves 4 to 6 people.



About Diana Harris

Runner, Chef, and Slave to all things peanut butter.
This entry was posted in Diana Harris, Food & Drink, Just Plain Fun, those3chicks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

