Taking a bite out of the Big Apple

The Chrysler Building

This past weekend my husband and I boarded a plane and jetted off to New York City with our long time friends from Ottawa.  This was not our first visit to the city that never sleeps, and in fact we’ve been many times over the last few years.  Each visit brings a few new things in addition to the tried and true,  and so I thought that I would share a few of my favourite things from this trip to NYC.

My favourite cocktail

Boutique Eat Shop

On our first night in New York we had tickets to see a remarkable creative and athletic dance show called Pilobolus at the Joyce Theatre.

In the neighbourhood near the theatre my friend came across an amazing  TravelZoo voucher for dinner and drinks at a restaurant called Boutique Eat Shop.

Pineapple Mojito

Before dinner I ordered a Pineapple Mojito, and it was the best cocktail that I had during the entire four day trip (and I had a few…)  Not too sweet (a concern with the pineapple juice) with just the right amount of mint and lime, it was outstanding.

Our entire meal was great, but the mussel appetizer and steak main course stood out in particular and we would certainly consider going to BES again the next time that we’re in New York City!

My favourite dessert

Magnolia Bakery

Red Velvet Cheesecake

A regular stop for me on any trip to New York City is the famous Magnolia Bakery.  Probably best known for it’s cupcakes, I personally always indulge in the cheesecake when I have the opportunity to go there.  Magnolia has several locations in New York, but the only one that I have ever visited is the one near Rockefeller Centre.  And it’s always busy – always!

Caramel Pecan Cheesecake

In the past my husband and I have always ordered the Red Velvet Cheesecake, but this year we stepped out of our comfort zones and tried the Caramel Pecan Cheesecake as well.  It is hard to pick a favourite – the Caramel Pecan  was equally creamy, luscious and delicious.  My advice – have both!

My favourite lounge

The Campbell Apartment - Fireplace Wall

Entrance

A new hangout for us on this trip was The Campbell Apartment.  This bar is located in the corner of the Grand Central Terminal, and was at one time the private office of 1920’s businessman John W. Campbell.  Restored in 1999, The Campbell Apartment specializes in “cocktails from another era”.

The interior space is breathtaking, and we visited for a late night cocktail not once, but twice on this trip because, well, it was hip and cool and we loved it so much!

So there it is – along with raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, these are a few of my favourite (NYC) things!

Photos by Anita Woo and Victor Woo

About anitawoo

A photographer & mom with a passion for capturing life's moments with my camera.
This entry was posted in Anita Woo, Food & Drink, Just Plain Fun, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

