MUSSELS & BEER: MY KIND OF WORKOUT

Being a chef, I love to discover and create new recipes, and share them.  On a recent trip to PEI, I sampled some of the world’s finest seafood, but the one dish that really stood out was the one I had at Gahan’s Brewpub:  mussels!

Gahan’s is PEI’s only microbrewery, located in Charlottetown and boasts great selection of lagers and ales.  Now, you should also know that one thing I love is good beer.  My friend Nancy, who loves PEI and shares my passion for microbreweries, had told me about Gahan’s.  After sampling a flight of the brewpub’s finest, it was time to sample something from the kitchen.  Our waitress, an islander, recommended the mussels in a tarragon cream sauce.   I’ve eaten mussels many times, but these were, by far, the best I’ve ever had.  The mussels were unbelievably fresh; the cream sauce was light and, with the addition of tarragon (my new favourite herb), wonderfully flavourful.  As I was inhaling these morsels of love I took mental note of the ingredients I tasted so I could recreate this dish at home.

Upon returning to Toronto, I invited friends over for dinner.  What better time than to attempt to recreate the recipe!  Here’s my version of Gahan’s mussels in a tarragon cream sauce:

INGREDIENTS:

2 lbs. mussels

1 shallot finely diced

1–2 cloves garlic, minced

1-2 tsp. fresh chopped tarragon

¼ cup half &half or 18% cream

1 tbsp. butter

1 tbsp. oil

1 cup white wine + 1 glass for the chef (quality control)

DIRECTIONS:

In a cold water bath, clean and de-beard mussels.

Sauté shallots and garlic in melted butter & oil for 5 minutes.  Add white wine and tarragon.  Let boil for 1-2 minutes.  Add cream, then mussels.  Cover and let steam for 5 minutes until mussels are all open.  Pour mussels and sauce into a large bowl, discarding any unopened mussels, and serve w/ warm bread for sopping up the excess sauce.

 I hope I’ve done the chef @ Gahan’s justice.  I can say that the meal was enjoyed by all, and it was a lovely way to revisit PEI!

Photos By Noelle Jenkinson

About Diana Harris

Runner, Chef, and Slave to all things peanut butter.
This entry was posted in Diana Harris, Food & Drink, Just Plain Fun, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

